Almost race time!

At 6:30 tomorrow morning, I’ll be finding my spot in corral 17 of the Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll half marathon

What’s going through my mind right now?

  • I did not train as well as I should have
  • I kind of have a cold right now

I’m confident that things will work out though.

My plan for the race is to start off around a 10 minute pace and try to stay at that speed for as long as possible.

Time for some honesty:

I’ve been eating way too much ice cream. This definitely needs to change asap.  It’s like I think that I have to eat it at every meal because I’ll never be able to eat ice cream ever again.  I don’t even know.  It’s ridiculous.


For the most part, I’ve been eating grocery type food for breakfast, but occasionally I get something from the dining hall.  No, I didn’t eat all of that bacon.

Jennifer and I went out to Cold Stone one day (for lunch…)

My willpower is horrible, I know.  I got the peach cobbler ice cream : )

There’s a chick fil a on campus that takes dining dollars, so Jenn & I decided to go there one night when the dining halls were closed.

Sickness:

This isn’t a new thing.  I’ve actually been sick for quite a while now, and it’s not fun.  I went to the doctor on the 24th and nothing was really determined when it comes to what I have.  She did put me on antibiotics though just in case it’s some sort of infection… well, I’m guessing that wasn’t it.

Instead of going back to campus, I went to my house to make some real food.

Toast & a scrambled egg burrito.

With a side of antibiotics.
You know what really doesn’t make sense? The directions are to take one capsule every 8 hours for 10 days.  Every eight hours?? That’s like 3 am one morning, 5 am another… what in the world?


Dining hall food… enough said.

More dining hall food… saturday’s and sunday’s they have brunch rather than breakfast & lunch so I’ve been going to those with some friends since we don’t have class.


Garlic bread, some sort of chicken alfredo, mashed potatoes & green beans.

Visitor:

Jordan just moved back to VA from Georgia and she came to visit me!

She brought Cooper and we went out to PetSmart to buy him a new crate.

We also stopped at Taco Bell for lunch.  I could resist trying their Frozen Margarita.  It actually tasted pretty good : )

Chicken Chalupa Supreme (no tomatoes)

Another night, I went home so I could do laundry.  Obviously, I texted my dad asked him what was for dinner.

Venison Cheeseburger and Asparagus

More college food.

I have actually been doing a pretty good job when it comes to eating veggies.  If only I can stop myself from gorging on ice cream at every meal.

Friend time:


Jenn, Robert & Troy

Troy, Robert & Matt

Isaiah

Joey & Johnny
Johnny & Jenn

Robert & me
Matt, Robert, Sean & Troy

As you can see, Jenn & I mainly just hang out with the guys; however, I do have more chick friends than what is pictured.  Guys are just way easier to get along with.

My roommate is great, but I’m never there.  Everyone in those pictures lives in the same building, so I spend all my time over there.  I’m actually going to put in a transfer to move over there sometime this week.

Classes:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday is a workout for me.  I have 10 minutes to walk from Philosophy to Business Statistics and then 10 minutes to walk from Busn Stat to German.  It takes about 8 minutes speedwalking to get to those destinations.  I actually kind of feel myself getting shin splints from the walk.  Not good.  Tomorrow after the race, I’m going to stop by my sister’s and pick up my bike so I can get around more quickly.
Tuesday/Thursday I have plenty of time in between classes; however, they’re my least favorite classes.  Applied Calculus & my 300 level Philosophy class.

Tonight:

I’m going to get all of my gear together, plug in my garmin, & get ready for bed.

Sleep is probably going to be impossible tonight.  The mixture of my cold & the pre-race nerves are going to make me restless mess.

Question:

What would you do if you had a cold when you are registered for a big race?

2 responses to “Almost race time!

  1. I say just go for it- you’re going to do great! Call me after the race and let me know how it goes! I’ll write more later, but I just wanted to wish you good luck babe!

  2. first off answer to your questions: RUN IT 🙂

    Now onto the more interesting things!

    CNU dining hall food it is bringing me back to the past few years. I am not going to lie I do not miss it AT ALL. Good luck with the food it’s a hard one to deal with but I went through the same Ice cream phase as you did. We have bangin flavors no lie. Try the peanut butter ice cream when they have it ( I recommended it and Kevin – director of dining- agreed)

    I’m so happy you blogged about Venison burgers. I had one last night- Delicious

Leave a Reply

