Racing Solo & shopping :)

What do you do when you want to run a race but don’t have anyone to go with you?
You run it by yourself of course!

& I did.

Memorial Scholarship 5k
Norfolk Botanical Garden
Tuesday July 27, 2010
6:30 pm

Time: 28:05 (chip timed)
For my age group (female: 20-24) I came in 5th out of 8.  Not great, not horrible.

Honestly, it was fun!
I would rather have people there with me though. It got boring after a while of standing around by myself.  I’m starting to like doing things by myself though.  Maybe I’ll have to hit up a movie for one sometime soon.

Food time:


Roll & enjoy.

Love hot wings.  Homemade sauce.


I really wanted cobbler with ice cream.  Unfortunately, after I put the cobbler in the microwave I noticed that we are all out of ice cream.  Yogurt helped me pretend.

I think the ice cream cone bowl gave it a nice little “haha you don’t have real ice cream!” touch 😦

Delicious.

A mix of peach(?) yogurt & plain yogurt with granola & raw oatmeal.
With a dash of phone charging and teddy bear (because I’m an adult.)

I obviously don’t take pictures of everything I eat.  If I did, I’d never get through a post because I would have WAY too many pictures.

Girl time:

I’ve been having a lot of “me time” lately which is a highly sugarcoated way of saying “I have nothing to do and no one to hang out with, so I’m going to hang out in my room by myself and facebook creep on people until I get tired and go to sleep.”

Yesterday, I stopped by CNU to drop off some paperwork and then went on over to the mall to do some light heavy shopping.

The purchase of Sweet Deceit means that once I start it, I’m going to be MIA until it’s over.

I may have gone a little crazy in Wet Seal. I wasn’t going to get the pink shirt; however, I realized that the white one was only like $2.49-ish so it was obvious that I needed to get it in another color too.  They were having a deal where if you bought a pair of jeans, you got your whole purchase 20% off, so there’s a pair of not pictured black jeans in my closet now too.
I managed to force myself out of the mall after going into only two stores.  Then, I may or may not have gone to Target 🙂  Hey! I’m moving into a dorm this fall, I kind of need to shop for that (excuses, excuses.)

Hangers – I think I’m going to need a lot more than that, shower caddy, measuring cups & measuring spoons.
I tried to justify buying a marshmallow roasting stick too, but couldn’t think of a good enough reason I would need that.

Spinning:

Met up with my mom for the 6:15 spinning class [of death].  Will was instructing which meant that my legs now hate me.  He’s big into the whole “running with resistance” thing.  Somehow, he managed to make my legs feel like they were about to catch on fire, while also making my arms feel like they were about to fall off.
Obviously, it was a good workout.

Dress up!

Melinda came over and dropped off 2 cantaloupes, a watermelon, a ton of peppers, beets, cabbage, tomatoes, a sweet potato… etc… from her parents garden.
Then we decided to play dress up 🙂
She tried on my new clothes, I tried on her old clothes.


Her dress.  My new shoes ❤  My hair looks just as bad as my floor. Love it.
I’m thinking about breaking into her house and stealing that dress asking to borrow that dress sometime.

Running:

Ran this morning. Wanted to stop and crawl back to my house before I even hit the 0.1 mile mark.

The total distance ended up being around 3.7(?) Honestly, my Garmin is not in reaching distance, so you’re not going to get exact numbers on that one.  The time wasn’t great, but that’s to be expected when running in the heat, the morning after an hour of spinning, while dehydrated.  I need to do a long run sometime in the immediate future. Like tomorrow.  Maybe I’ll set my alarm and wake up early and run 9 miles?  We’ll see.

For now:

I think I’m going to go read that book until I’m forced to go to work at 5:30.

Oh oh oh!  My mom & I are going to the Cheesecake Factory Sunday! Beyond excited.

8 responses to “Racing Solo & shopping :)

  1. If we eat cheescake, we can’t tell Will. He will make us run with resistance the entire class! That was an awesome spin class!!

  2. Looks like you’ve had a lot going on! I love Wet Seal! I’ve gotten a lot of cute things from that store for cheap. But sometimes it can be a hit or miss. That dress looks gorgeous on you and your hair actually goes nice with it!

    • Wet Seal is pretty awesome! Pretty much everything was on sale when I went in, can’t beat that! I almost didn’t go in there, but I’m really glad that I did. Thanks 🙂 I’ll probably brush my hair if I ever wear that dress though. Kind of like how I really need to brush my hair right now! Gotta love messy buns!

  3. Hey awesome work at the race! Thats so cool that you did it! Did your dad do those wings on the smoker? Sorry I didn’t get back to your email- I was in DC all weekend and didn’t get a chance.
    If your arms are hurting on the bike its because you either don’t have enough resistance or you are leaning to much on your arms. You should be able barely hold on to the handlebars at all- focus on keeping you butt back over the seat and the power in your legs!
    Hope you are having a great weekend and I’m sure I’ll talk to you soon. Give me a call if you’re nearby tomorrow!

  4. congrats on your first race alone. I am happy to hear you are still racing.

    All your food looks great as always and I have been trying to have a lot of “girl time” as well. Sometimes we all just need to be left alone.

    I hope your enjoying preparing for CNU and eating at cheesecake factory. I want pictures 🙂

    • Thanks! We should do a race together sometime if you’re still into racing! Are you doing the mud run this weekend? You should if you’re not! It’s going to be a ton of fun!

      It’s so hard making food pictures look appetizing all the time, so I’m glad you’re liking the pictures. Girl time is always good. I definitely value my personal time.

      I definitely am! That reminds me, I really need to do some more dorm room shopping. Move in is in a couple of weeks and I’m basically counting down the days! I received some housing info today 🙂 You’ll be getting cheesecake factory pictures very soon! I didn’t have a chance to put them in my latest post, but I promise they’ll be in the next one!

  5. Love the new clothes. I know you will look great in anything 😀

Leave a Reply

