Fireworks & peach cobbler

More photos from Illinois.

The wedding food:


The reception was in the same room as the ceremony, so everyone mingled in another room while the staff set up the tables.  It ended up taking quite a while to set up, but I was satisfied with the open bar, cheese and fruit in the waiting room.

The meal started off with a salad & roll:

Me + raw tomatoes just doesn’t happen.  I ate the roll and ate around the tomatoes a little.


I choose the pasta dish.  Jordan got the chicken and my dad got the beef, so I tried all of the different options, but mine was definitely the best 🙂 Yay for not having menu envy!


My box of homemade mints.


Um, not how you spell my last name, but whatever haha.


The newlyweds with my aunt and uncle (groom’s parents)

A lot of dancing happened.  Thankfully, not so many pictures of that.

Me, Jordan, Cody & Shannon.

I slept like a baby that night 🙂

Fourth of July:


Woke up to this cutie.
Then, stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts on the way to my aunt’s house.

Love donuts. I had… 3?

For dinner, we went to a local pizza place to eat and then watch the fireworks in the parking lot after.

Salad & breadsticks were also consumed.

Fireworks:

There’s no place like home:


Blogging has introduced me to some strange food combinations.

Oatmeal + a fried egg.

Ooey, gooey goodness.


Egg sandwich with cantaloupe.

So good. Scrambled eggs w/ american cheese in between skillet toasted bread.


Ribs (I had that x3), Corn on the cob, & a peach flavored delicious drink my dad got in Venice.

For dessert, I made a peach cobbler with homegrown peaches.

Not sure where we got the recipe, but for anyone that is interested:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup flour (all purpose)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used half & half because we never have milk in our house)
  • 2 cups fresh fruit -peaches- (sugar, lemon and spices to taste)
  1. Melt butter in 1 1/2 quart casserole dish (I used an 8×8 inch glass dish)
  2. Blend flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and milk.  Stir until lumps are gone.
  3. Pour mix over butter in casserole. DO NOT STIR.
  4. Pour fruit over mixture. DO NOT STIR.
  5. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.

I didn’t add any sugar, lemon or spices to the peaches; however, I did sprinkle cinnamon over everything right before baking.


Add vanilla ice cream & enjoy!

Running:

After running four days in a row, yesterday was a rest day.  It’s July & you know what that means, it’s racing time.  The Tidewater Striders have a Summer Series going on all month.  Every Tuesday evening, there is a race going on at the Norfolk Botanical Garden.

Summer Series I – Countdown 2 or 4 Miler – “The race clock will start at 75 minutes (6:15 pm) and begin counting down.  You pick when you want to start the 2 or 4 mile event with the goal of crossing the finish line when the clock strikes zero.  Everyone should finish together!”
I didn’t do this one, but I really like the concept and kind of wish I ran it.

Summer Series II (tonight)3x2k Run Relay or 2x2k Walk Relay “Three person teams for the run and two person teams for the walk.  No need to worry about organizing a team, we will pick your new friends for you.”
I’ll be doing this one tonight.

Summer Series III – Predict Your Time – “No watches, heart monitors or splits.”
I’m not sure how far the run is, but I requested off work so I can participate!  My poor Garmin will have to sit this one out.

Memorial 5k – “On July 27th come out and support the Memorial Scholarship Endowment Fund with a $10 donation.  Post-race party will include DJ, food, adult beverages, and random prizes.  A separate entry form is required.”
I don’t think this one is actually part of the Summer Series.  I did request off work for it though.

  • The three “Summer Series” races cost $5 each, while the Memorial 5k is $10.
  • Free to all Tidewater Striders members.
  • The only race that you can pre-register for is the Memorial 5k.
  • There is a $1 fee per person to enter the Norfolk Botanical Garden.
  • Registration opens at 5:30 pm.

I’m definitely going to join the Stiders for these races.  For the three races I’m hoping to run, it would cost $20 for non members and the membership only costs $15!

Movies:

I saw Eclipse! Amazing.
& who better to see it with than that guy that looks like Jacob Black?

Stalking apparently pays off.
(By the way, his real name is Bryan, but his blog name is going to be “Jacob.” Sound good?)

My sister, Jessica, invited me to go along with her, her boyfriend Tony & Tony’s friend Tim to see the midnight showing of Despicable Me.
The bad thing about midnight showings is that I’m a runner.  Which means, I tend to go to sleep early and wake up early.  Midnight = kind of past my bedtime = falling asleep for about an hour of the movie.
It was hilarious from what I saw, but I’m definitely going to have to see it again.

Quote of the post:

“Real athletes run, others just play games”

College:

I’m still excited, also nervous.  I started making a list yesterday of things I need to take with me, and oh my is it a lot of stuff!  Thankfully, I’m going to school close to home, so I won’t necessarily have to take everything with me when I first move in.  Example: my television is staying at my house until I find out whether or not my roommate decided to bring one.

Ta-ta for now!

2 responses to “Fireworks & peach cobbler

  1. Nice post! How does the egg on oatmeal taste? I’ve seen it a few times as well but yet to try it…

    Did you end up going to the race tonight? I think I might check it out next week! Are the medals or anything or just pure fun?

    • It was actually pretty good! I did end up adding syrup though… haha.

      Nope. I decided it wasn’t worth it lol. I went out and ate pizza with my sister and some friends instead. Kind of similar, right? No? Oops. haha

      I think these races are just fun. I don’t think they even give out t-shirts or anything. You can’t really complain much though considering the cost.

Leave a Reply

