2nd place in age group? Say what?

Remember that race I ran on May 31st?
Well, I didn’t think that I did very well, so we didn’t stay for the award ceremony.  There were a lot of people that appeared to be around my age group.  Plus, my time wasn’t that great compared to the times that I’ve seen before for my age group.  The thing is, I was racing for the first time in a HIGHER age group because I just turned 20.

For women 20-24, I came in second place.  Seriously? Looking back on it, I REALLY wish I would have stayed for the awards, considering I would have gotten something for placing top 3.  Oh well.  Lesson learned.

Official time: 28:28

This morning, I had a pretty horrible run.  About 2.63 miles at a time of 27:34.  I didn’t take my garmin for three reasons.
1. It’s probably just about dead, so I need to charge it before I use it again. 
2.
I knew my speed was going to be pretty bad, so it would have just discouraged me, if anything.
3.
The route was a normal one, so I didn’t need it for the distance.

I have a TON of pictures to post, both from Germany and since then.

A preview: P.F. Changs is absolutely amazing.  It’ll probably be a post all of its own.

For today, I’m going to VA Beach with my dad to get a new phone and run some errands.
When I was at the airport on my way home from Germany, I decided dropping my phone in the toilet would be a good idea.  Ummm… it really wasn’t.  It finally started working again, but then the end button stopped working.  I was on the way to the Sprint store when it started working again; however, I then realized that now the “talk” and “speaker” button are acting funny.  Every time I press one of them, my phone dials a bunch of random numbers.

& I’m off!

5 responses to “2nd place in age group? Say what?

  1. Congratulations on your placement! That’s awesome! 🙂

  2. You go girl!! So proud of you!

    I have to tell you, dropping my phone in the toilet is my biggest fear. I think if I do that, I may just leave it and buy a new one.

  3. Congratulations on getting 2nd! That happened to me too. The first race I ran I felt okay about the time. But come to find out I was 2nd in my age group as well.

Leave a Reply

