Guilty as charged

I have been doing some major snacking over here.  My body’s way of making up for not getting in as much food as usual lately?  I just now closed up the peanut butter jar and wrapped up my easter bunny.  Unfortunately, I already put quite a dent into both of them in the past two days.

Other snacks include strawberries with peanut butter, peanut butter with peanut butter ;), tortilla chips, baked goldfish… hm…

& some pictured food:
food 002
food 003
Chocolate and peanut butter = amazing 🙂
P.S.- Note the band aids.  I was refilling salt and pepper shakers at work and one of the salt shakers was shattered where you have to twist the top off.  My middle finger noticed, then my thumb, and finally my eyes noticed.
food 005  Grilled cheese, tomato soup & baked goldfish
food 006
Goldfish love swimming in tomato soup, just to let you know.
food 001
Moving onto today… I had scrambled eggs with cheese + an everything bagel thin (lightly toasted).  One side with butter and then the other side with…
food 005
Apple butter and peanut butter   
food 006
My dad picked me up some Gnocchi on one of his trips to Germany, so I decided to finally try it out today 🙂
food 008
I don’t exactly know German, so I googled the directions.  It was quite easy.  Boil the gnocchi in water for about 2 minutes, until the gnocchi rise.  Drain and serve immediately. 
food 011
+ marinara sauce + homegrown asparagus + freshly grated parmesan cheese
I think I may have cooked the gnocchi too long.  It was a little on the chewy side.  Next time, I’m going to try frying them instead of boiling them, I think.  
 

 

Onto running:

I usually don’t run at night; however, when Jon Alan agreed to run with me when I got home from accounting last night, I was not about to pass that up.

Distance: 1.9 miles
Time: 16:18
Avg. Pace:
8:35

Whoa.  I was having a pretty hard time keeping up, to say the least.  Don’t you hate when people that never really run are faster than you?
He actually broke away from me at the end and I didn’t even get my hopes up about catching up.  Thankfully, he stopped to walk and cool down before he got to the driveway so we actually got home at the same time. 

Question: What is your theory on refueling after a run?  Meaning: what types of foods do you refuel with and how long do you wait to refuel? 

I normally eat right away for the pure fact that I’m usually extremely hungry as soon as I hit the stop button on my Garmin.  We got into a discussion about how soon you should eat after exercising though, and I would like to hear some more opinions 🙂 & personal preferences.

& racing:

This weekend, there is a Crossover Challenge 15k in Richmond that my friend Christina wants me to run with her. I really want to; however, I’m not sure it’s a good idea.  As you can see from my most recent runs, I haven’t been doing too well.  The distances have been tiny compared to a 15k and I’ve never ran more than 8 miles before in the first place. 
It’s hard for me to pass up races though and it would be really nice to get to see Christina again!  Right now, I’m trying to figure out if I can get someone to take my Friday night shift at work, so I can see if it would even work out to do the race.

In preparation (and to help figure out how I would even do), I’m going to try for 9 miles tomorrow.  So far, I have enlisted my god-brother, Colby, to run the first 3-4 miles with me in the morning and then I guess I’ll just do the rest by myself.  There is someone I’d like to ask to run the rest with me; however, I need to get in contact with her first.

 

Unfortunately, I have a business test due tomorrow that I need to work on. Wish me luck!

8 responses to “Guilty as charged

  1. GOOD LUCK! see i think that will happen if i run wtih B. he’s a butt fast runner.

    peanut butter and peanut butter. i like that. it’s OBV you’re my buddie.

    • see, I wasn’t expecting Jon Alan to run that fast yesterday! It was definitely a little kick in the butt for me 🙂 He has ankle weights that he’s going to start running with which will help me keep up (hopefully lol) Well, it’s true! I like my peanut butter with a dash of peanut butter 😉

  2. GOODLUCK!!! You can do it my running bud!! After I run I always try to get a combination of carbs, protein and fat in me within about 45 minutes. Eggs and oatmeal with a spoonful of PB seems to be my latest post-run meal!

  3. Be careful about the run this weekend! If you can, I would just take it easy. No need to race the distance you are running.

    I wrote briefly about refueling here a long time ago. The gist is, you need to refuel after a run within 30 mins. I am never hungry either, but force myself to do it, and try to follow a 4:1 carb:protein ratio.

  4. wow girl you were booking it! Mmmm that grilled cheese and soup looks AMAZING!! so jealous! Send some to me? haha

  5. fattiefatterton

    You go girl!!

    I’ve always heard that you should refuel with protein within 45 minutes, or else your muscles start to breakdown to fuel you.

  6. Well at least the snacks are tastey!!
    OUCH sorry about your fingures 😦
    hehe google really know everything doesnt it!??!
    MM usually after running I come home drink a lot of water and about 30 min later have a snack, generally an apple and almonds or something along those lines.
    Go for it!! You’ll feel amazing after you FINISH the race and if you keep telling yourself you can you certainly will be able to!!!! Let us know how the 9 miler goes!! ❤ ❤

  7. So glad to see you posting again and that your body is making up for all that lack of food. Seriously that grilled cheese and tomato soup is enough to make my mouth water. Plus I love the goldfish too!

Leave a Reply

