Yorktown Victory Run 8 mile race recap

There were a lot of surprises with this race!

First off- it was a trail race!  Whaaaat?  I definitely wasn’t expecting that!  It was a good surprise though 🙂 My shoes got to learn what mud was.  Plus, I got to learn how to dodge tree roots! 
No falling for this girl!

Secondly, check out this time – 1 hour 12 minutes & 39 seconds (Garmin time)
Could not be happier. 
Avg. Pace: 9:06

Here are the splits:

Mile 1: 8:35
Mile 2: 9:44
Mile 3: 9:05
Mile 4: 9:06
Mile 5: 8:59
Mile 6: 9:09
Mile 7: 9:24
Mile 8: 8:42 (pace)

Mile 8 was actually only .98, not a full mile.  Hence why I put the pace rather than the time (8:33 time)

My first mile started out a little fast and as you’ll see from the video that I’ll be posting, I knew it.  I was really just in the groove though so I kept going!

We can’t start from the end though, so here’s where it started!
YVR 8 miler 001
I had my usual pre-race fuel.  Oatmeal (with cinnamon) topped with 1/2 a [frozen] banana

YVR 8 miler 007
Jon Alan drove me over to Newport News Park, where the starting line was.
YVR 8 miler 009
YVR 8 miler 008 
YVR 8 miler 023 
I started towards the back.
YVR 8 miler 027

YVR 8 miler 123 
See that 10 year old girl?  I had a REALLY hard time catching up with her!  My age group is the 19 and under group which means I really wanted to make sure she didn’t beat me!  I ended up passing her in the last 1/4 of a mile. 🙂
YVR 8 miler 125
YVR 8 miler 132
The race was on the small side.  I believe about 300 racers.  There were plenty of bathrooms at the starting line (once we realized there were bathrooms at the ranger station) and then a couple porta potties at the finish (plus plenty of trees to use in between the start and finish!) 
YVR 8 miler 134
Whitney also ran the race!  It was really nice to get to meet her in person!  (she ran way faster than I did!)

YVR 8 miler 136 
Chick-fil-A was one of the sponsors, so they had a tent set up with free food for the racers.  I ate all of the nuggets & apple chunks (really wished I got more of the apples!  Yum!) Plus some of the salad & a bite or two of the chicken salad sandwich.  I decided that I really don’t like Chick-fil-A’s chicken salad.  Ew. 
YVR 8 miler 140
There’s a Ben & Jerry’s shop located right in front of Yorktown beach, so when Jon Alan said “ice cream” I was automatically on board!YVR 8 miler 142
I was planning on getting the cookie cookie sundae, but then something amazing happened!
YVR 8 miler 144
They offered me this sundae for free!  There was a photographer there taking pictures of this one for a Hampton Roads magazine and since they were finished with it, they gave it to me rather than throwing it away :) 
YVR 8 miler 146
Chocowlate Chip was the ice cream & it was spectacular!
YVR 8 miler 149
Jon Alan got this mountain of wonderfulness.

Then we headed back to the Yorktown Victory Monument for the award ceremony and raffles.  Unfortunately, I didn’t place in the top 3 (Whitney got second place in her age group!) and I didn’t win any of the raffles.  It was still fun to watch everyone win though!

As I mentioned, I took video during the race.  It isn’t on my computer yet though so I’ll have it to you all as soon as I can!
Now it’s time for me to finish getting ready for work! (bleh!)

6 responses to “Yorktown Victory Run 8 mile race recap

  1. fattiefatterton

    Congrats my friend! I am so impressed on many levels – not the least of which is that you still have to work after this race! Wow!!

  2. Yeah girl you rocked that!!! Love your tank top!

  3. It was so nice to meet you yesterday! I hope you had a good time and I’m sorry I did not get to chat with you more.

    Congrats on your time you did awesome. I am jealous of that ice cream 🙂 Have a good day!

  4. OH MY GOSH! Sammi…you totally rock!!! Look at those times!!! I am so happy for you!

  5. Great job at the race! Awesome time! I would have been super surprised to arrive and find a trail race. Those can be intense! 🙂

    Too funny that you had to beat that 10-year-old. Age groups are funny sometimes, aren’t they?

    • Thank you! It was kind of intense, but awesome 🙂 I’m really glad it was a trail race! I thought she was 10, but the race results said 8! Now I’m kind of confused though because it was someone she was with that told me she was 10. lol

Leave a Reply

