Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Do you have your green on? 
Good.

Time to back up though…
Yesterday I did in fact stop by the gym on my way home from school.  Unfortunately, I forgot my headphones again.  I haven’t remembered them any of the times that I’ve gone to this new YMCA!  Looks like I need to buy a pair specifically for staying in my gym bag.

Distance: 1.27 miles
Time: 11 min 56 sec
Incline: 2.0
Avg Pace: 9:22

Yeah… about that.

I did a 0.5 mile warm up at 6.0 mph.  Then I started doing 1 minute intervals switching between 7.5 mph & 6.5 mph.  That’s where I went wrong.  I pushed myself way too hard, way too early.  After a couple intervals I changed 6.5 to between 6.0 & 6.5  and then changed 7.5 to between 7.0 & 7.5.

This was my first time ever running with an incline on the treadmill and I would be lying if I said I liked it!  Gah.  Give me a hill outside and I’m fine.  I discovered that I’m not a fan of running on a treadmill incline though.  Looks like I’ll have to work my way up to that! 

My left leg started hurting about half way through and I couldn’t make it stop so I just gave up on my workout and left.

 

Once I got home, I took Lexi out to the front yard to get in a little bit more of a workout while spending time with her.  I threw the ball and we would both run after it (she usually beat me!)  Then, I would chase her around trying to steal the ball and then have her chase me trying to take it.  After about 5 – 10 minutes of this, she wouldn’t do anything else!  I would throw it and she would just look at it and then me, and then the ball again not moving.  I would run away from her and she wouldn’t come after me anymore and I couldn’t get her to let me chase her. 

I guess she did a little too much too fast too!  She was exhausted after just that short amount of time.  Oh well.

Extra exercise from yesterday: 10 push ups girly style in the grass while Lexi was going to the bathroom.

 

Lunch was an obvious choice:
misc 002
Grilled cheese + an unnecessary side of Doritos
misc 005
+ very necessary tomato soup.  Love it.

I’m not sure if Lexi’s appetite spiked from the exercise she got, or if it was just because she’s a little piggy.
misc 007
She normally eats around 6:00pm.  This is where she sits when she wants you to feed her though. 
misc 011
Luckily for her, I had work at 5:30 last night so I went ahead and fed her.

Luckily for me, I fed myself too!  [Not pictured:] burrito. 

 

When I got home, I apparently ate this too…

misc 017
Strawberry [and blueberry] Shortcake

Thank you camera for keeping me accountable for my eating habits.

I woke up pretty early this morning because Jordan came over to pick up her mail + a Victoria’s Secret package (jeeeealous!). 
misc 001

Cheerios were consumed by one of us me.  Nom nom nom.
Then back to bed I went!

Around 9:00 am, my dad called saying he was almost home.  Huh?  He wasn’t supposed to be home until tonight/tomorrow morning, so this was a little bit of a surprise to me.  Not a bad surprise though!  Although I would have loved to get some more sleep-in time, I got up and started getting ready for a run!

I was planning on getting to the gym early tonight for a treadmill run before tonight’s spinning class, but this meant I got to run outside

Distance: 5.39 miles
Time: 50 min 40 sec
Avg pace:
9:24 min/mile
Best pace (end sprint pace): 5 min 54 sec

Part on road, about 0.5 – 1 mile through hilly trails + a wooden bridge.
Looks like my legs were happy to be outside!  I felt like I had so much energy the whole time!  Normally, I try to reserve some of my energy for the end, this time I pushed myself really hard for the second half & was still able to give it even more at the end!

My dad has been talking about me catching up to his pace.  He mentions that one day he’ll be having to struggle to keep up with me, other than me struggling to keep up with him.  This morning was the first time I actually believed him! 🙂

Problem:  Sometimes when I run, my left shoulder hurts.  I try to loosen up and keep it relaxed and straight down my side rather than bent at my elbow at a 90 degree angle; however, it often takes a while for it to stop hurting.  Anyone else ever have this problem?  Any advice on what I should change to fix the issue?

Experiment: I forgot to put on body glide and didn’t remember until I was walking out the door.  I thought about going back upstairs to apply some, but decided to just see how much I need it instead.  Conclusion: I need it.  During the run, my legs were fine.  When I started walking up to the house, I realized they aren’t too happy with me!  Oops.  At least now I know 🙂

Post run: Hot tub!  Gotta make the muscles happy.  ‘nuff said.
Breakfast/lunch/brunch?
misc 006
Omelet:

  • 2 eggs
  • ham
  • cheddar cheese
  • pepperjack (?) cheese

misc 004

Parfait:

  • Nonfat Vanilla Yogurt
  • Fresh Strawberries
  • Fresh Blueberries
  • Frozen (thawed in microwave) mixed berries

misc 005

Rather than making this post even longer than it already is (sorry!) I’m going to save a topic I want to discuss for later :) 

Preview: Diet Healthier eating talk.  

2 responses to “Happy St. Patty’s Day!

  1. Remember to shake out your arms every half mile or so to remind yourself not to tense up your shoulders! I think that is why many runners have pain there. You should be okay with your arms at 90 degrees.

  2. I tend to tense up when I run and my shoulders creep up. Try to remember to drop the shoulders and keep them down and back. Also I agree with kilax above..remember to shake out!

Leave a Reply

