Something old, something new

Oatmeal is my favorite fuel.  It has never caused me stomach issues, nor any other problems.

Old favorite.  New mug.

The oatmeal itself was pretty ordinary.  Just added cinnamon, apples & then french vanilla creamer.
Perfect for a morning spinning class!

Before picking me up, Jordan called and asked if I would like a green monster!  How could I resist?  I asked her to just make a little extra for me.

Spinach, lime, cherries & rice milk.  Mine was the little one and I still didn’t manage to finish it all! I was already a little full from the oatmeal.
Jordan and I ended up being a little on the late side this morning for the class, so only one of us was able to do the class with my mom.  Since it was kind of Jordan’s fault we were running late, I went to the spinning class and she ended up doing a step class.

The spinning instructor today was amazing.  She was so upbeat that she was actually singing along with the music!  Tomorrow, she’s doing a 3:15 class but I really need to do a long run so I’m having to resist going to the spin class!

My dad bought a costco box of boca burgers a couple years ago and I’m working on using them up.
Boca burger, american cheese, ketchup, mustard on grilled honey wheat bread.

+ a side of ruffles with dip.

That lunch combo did nothing for my sweet tooth.

Much better!  Lightly toasted honey wheat toast with peanut butter & chocolate chips (milk chocolate & white chocolate)
Not pictured: the extra chocolate chips I decided were necessary 🙂
That class must have really taken a lot out of me today because I took a nap in the middle of the day!  It’s usually hard for me to fall asleep when it’s still light out, so this is a rare thing for me.

There was half of a chicken breast in the fridge and I knew that I wanted to find something interesting to do with it.  For some reason, I had stir-fry on my mind as soon as I woke up from my nap.  I’ve been needing to go to the store for a while now, so this is exactly what I needed to get me out of my lazy state of mind and go t0 the store.  First stop was the fruit and produce area where I found out that strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries were all buy one get one free!  Can’t pass that up!  I got two containers of strawberries & two containers of blueberries.

The recipe I used for the stir-fry was definitely a make it up as you go along type for the most part.

  • 1/2 chicken breast
  • 2 sliced carrots
  • broccoli
    Sauce:
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch

I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and cooked it in oil.  Then, I added the vegetables and cooked for about 4 minutes.  Added the sauce until it started to thicken and then paired everything up with some instant white rice.

Easy-peasy.

New recipe.  Old plate. So old, I wasn’t even born yet when it was purchased.

I didn’t manage to eat it all.  Chicken is always a difficult thing for me to cook for some reason and I think I probably overcooked it a tad bit.  Still good though 🙂
I’ve never cooked anything like this before by myself. It was actually really refreshing though to just be able to cook on my own schedule without the stress of making sure someone else would like it.

Do people ever mistake you for being younger/older than you really are?
I stopped at the bank a few days ago and received a nice little age related slap in the face.  The woman at the counter asked how old I was, telling me that I looked around her daughters age.
Would you like to know how old her daughter is? Eleven. Seriously?  She thought it was hilarious.  I thought it was a little far-fetched.  Not to be misunderstood, I know I look younger than I am.  Whether or not I look eight years younger than I am though…. I don’t know about that.  One day, I’ll be happy I look younger than I am, but for now, it’s kind of irritating 😦

6 responses to “Something old, something new

  1. Congrats on your stirfry! It looks really yummy!

    When I was in middle school, people always thought I was older than I really was. Now that I’m in my 20’s, people always think I’m so young. I guess I have a baby face!?

    You and your sister look SO much alike! However, you definitely do not look 11 haha.

  2. fattiefatterton

    Ummm, no, you don’t look 11. It’s funny, because I’m the same as Rachael – I looked older when I was younger, and now that I’m older, I look younger. I’ll take it though, as I am staring 40 down !! Lol

    You, your sister, and your mom are so beautiful!! 😀

  3. some day you’ll love those kinds of remarks! 🙂

    and keep taunting me with that mug girlie! it looks like stained glass to me!

    glad you loved your spin class. I took one once..it kicked my butt!

  4. I totally got ID’d for an R rated movie in February! (I’m 23!!!)

  5. Sammi,
    Jess had a slap in the face comment a few years ago. She went to Dr. Pam’s to babysit. The grandparents opened the door for Jess and yelled to their granddaughter that her friend was here to play. Jess told them she was the sitter and the grandmother busted out laughing, yelling to her husband, “She’s the sitter not the playmate.” Jess wasn’t laughing.

  6. Pingback: Food + treadmill question « Running To Fit

Leave a Reply

