The apple and the tree

While checking out a new post on one of my favorite blogs, IlaxSTUDIO, I found out that she wrote a guest post on Destination 26.2.  This was my first time hearing of Destination 26.2 and Linzi’s story sounds amazing.  Plus, she started running around the same time I did!  Which means, I think she’s really driven to be running a marathon this October!  I need to get my butt in gear and start training harder!

The topic of the guest post was…
How would you feel if you found out you were destined to end up with your mother’s body? Would you be happy? Ambivalent? Hysterical?” -Kim’s words

I was immediately intriged.  If I was destined to have my mother’s body when I am her age, I’d be ESTATIC!  After writing a post sized comment, I erased it and decided to write an actual post about it instead.



My mom has been thin ever since I can remember.  I haven’t seen a single picture of her from a time that she was out of shape and I think that’s purely because she has never been out of shape. There is a catch though: she’s always worked for it for as long as I can remember as well.  I remember her doing floor work while watching tv in the evening when I was younger and just thinking “that’s weird.”  Now that I’m older, I get it. She wasn’t just doing these weird moves because they’re fun.  Leg lifts tone your legs, crunches are part of the history behind her flat stomach.  It’s not just that though.  She has always been one to watch what she eats as well.  Rather than ordering out when her office does, she brings something healthy from home.  I hope eventually her strength to turn down food temptations rubs off on me! It’s not like she gives up all the good stuff though.  She eats healthy stuff that she actually likes. Plus, she still eats ice cream (I think I got my love for ice cream from her!); however, she eats smaller portions of it and gets those 100 calorie ice cream bars and things like that.


When it comes to fitness and healthy habits with my dad, it’s actually about the same as my mom.  Their bodies are obviously a lot different due to gender reasons; however, he has also put a lot of effort into the way he looks.  He runs regularly, about 5 miles (give or take) a few days a week (depending on his schedule).  When it comes to other work outs, he doesn’t do sit ups or anything like that but he stays in shape with all of the yard work and other tasks he takes on.  His diet is a lot different from my mom’s.  He is more along the Atkins path while my mom goes for low fat foods.

I would do a poll to ask how old you think they look; however, I don’t think they would want me to post their ages! Neither one of them look their age though.  I definitely got that from them.  I’ve been told I look 15.  Um… thanks? My tables have asked me how old I am and the usual reaction is shock.  It’s annoying right now, but I know that I’ll be grateful that I look so young once I get older.

Overall, having a body based on my parents’ bodies would definitely be a good thing!

Head on over and check out the guest post!  Kim wrote a lot about the actual science behind it.

8 responses to “The apple and the tree

  1. Ladybug! You are so sweet!! I can’t wait until this snow is gone and we can make plans to go running together. Take a spin class with me. It is so much fun!!!
    xoxxox~mom

  2. Your parents look amazing and it’s wonderful that they are committed to being healthy!

  3. You are so nice to post this! Thank you!

    I wish my parents were more like yours. Both of them look amazing. I would love to have parents I could exercise with. Granted, my dad will ride the bike while I run, and my mom could too… I would just love to share running with them!

    • I love running with Sammi. She talks the entire time which makes it more enjoyable and before you know it, you’re done. I’m amazed at how many miles she runs. I’m hard pressed to do 4 miles! I love my Sammi!

  4. I think that is great that your parents are so active. I think that is why I have struggled so hard to find fitness in my life that works for me. I didn’t have super active parents, though they supported my every sport decision growing up, I didn’t have them as a role model. But I know that my running has actually rubbed off on them in other ways – such as hiking, biking and just being more active.

    • I do love that my parents have always been so active. It’s nice to have someone to relate to since I don’t really have any friends that are into running or eating healthy or anything like that. I’m so glad to hear that you were able to rub off on your parents like that! I wish I could rub off on my sisters and friends when it comes to running!

  5. Your parents are gorgeous and what great role models. I wish I had the same in my parents (for fitness, at least). Mine were 40 by the time I came along, and at that time (1972) fitness was not in and 40 was rather “old.” It’s completely different now. : D

    And yes, you will appreciate the young look as you age. I was carded until I was about 34. Even now, most people think I’m still in my mid-20s.

    • Thank you! I was sitting next to my dad when I read this so I showed it to him. He said he likes you already! 🙂 That’s what I keep telling myself! I’ll probably get questioned about the validity of my ID for the first couple years!

Leave a Reply

