They burn so good

I ran SEVEN miles today.  New personal distance record!

Time: 1:09:25
Distance: 7.0 mi
Avg. Pace: 9:55

Not bad. Not bad at all 🙂

I believe I have mentioned before that there is a park being built near my neighborhood (feel free to look for the post, I am tight on time and always have a hard time finding posts I want), well it is coming along quite nicely and has a lot of trails going through the woods that I’ve ran/walked a few times.  Today my dad and I went around the 2.5 mile loop twice and then went down towards one of the trails.  We were planning on going left through the woods but my dad started talking about a bridge that the park guys have been working on for a while and we realized that they finished the bridge as we were running!  It was pretty awesome to get to be the first people to go on the bridge (other than the workers of course).  Once we got back to the neighborhood, my dad said he was going to go straight home and I ran up and down the street in front of our house a couple times to get my mileage exactly where I wanted it 🙂

I started off that run shooting for 7 miles, changed it to 6.5 miles during the run and then again to 6.2 miles when my legs started chafing.  Once it came down to it though, I just did NOT want to stop.  I had a goal and even though I flirted with the idea of lowering it, I stuck to it in the end and I could not be prouder of myself.

My thunder thighs were chafing the majority of the time which, I’m sure a lot of you know, is not very fun.  They’re feeling alright now that I’m wearing silky pants that keep a nice little buffer between my legs.

My muscles are burning whenever I walk (especially up and down stairs) but it is a good burn.  A “I kicked that run’s butt” burn.  It’s weird how certain kinds of pain can make you smile.

Only one mile away from the distance I’ll be running on April 3rd!

I registered for two more races since my last post!
March 27th – The Monument 10k in Richmond
April 3rd      –  The Yorktown Victory Run 8 miler in Newport News/Yorktown
Beyond words excited.

The only bad thing, they are exactly a week apart.  I’m not going to focus on that though because even though it worries me now, I don’t think it’ll end up being a problem.

I’m still trying to decide if I need to take off April 3rd from work.  Right now, I have requested off April 2nd and put in a request for them to schedule me as late as possible on the 3rd.  Sometimes I hate the fact that races are on weekends.  I know that’s what works out for most people; however, weekends are the good money making nights for me so I don’t like having to take them off.  I think I’m probably just going to leave it like I have it right now and if my legs are super sore that night, then I’ll just deal with it 🙂  I did request off March 26th and 27th though since the race is in Richmond and it’s a bigger event when it comes to participants which means I probably won’t want to leave very early.

Now:
I need to find a February race!  I have an unofficial goal of doing at least one race every month this year but I haven’t decided on one for February yet.
Anyone doing any races in February?  It doesn’t only have to be Virginia ones 🙂

So is it bad that I started that post earlier today and never sent it before I went to work? Is it worse that I’ve done that before? lol.  Wouldn’t be as bad if I was actually adding more stuff right now, but I’m not.  So instead I’ll leave you with a preview of my next post…

VITATOPS!  I finally tried them and I love them!

8 responses to “They burn so good

  1. Awesome!! GOOD FOR YOU!!! 7 MILES WOOT WOOT!!! 😀 That is a good burn, the burn of accomplishment!
    Wow one race a month thats such a great way to stay in running mode all year round!
    and no its not bad that you wrote this this morning and didnt post it until tongiht, im guilt of the same thing 😉
    YUM i love vitat tops cant wait to read your thoughts and what kind you tried!! ❤ ❤

  2. Fattie Fatterton

    You go girl!! How exciting on the new PDR!! 🙂

  3. Sammi~
    Great job! When we go running together again, you are going to think I’m pitiful! I have been taking spinning classes 3X’s a week, hour long classes in the evening. I love them!Take one with me!

  4. YAY! YAY! YAY! Congrats on setting a new distance record for yourself! 🙂

  5. Good for you Sammie! That is awesome!

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!
    I am glad you hit your mark instead of stopping. I swear that is the runner’s high and not the actual running…just pushing yourself beyond what you imagined you could do!

    I dunno but it’s awesome either way!
    xo

  6. sorry…SAMMI.

    I always mis spell your name! sorry!!!!

  7. How cool that there is a new park by your house! I love the parks by our home! I feel so lucky that they are there! I love running through nature.

    You should be okay running back to back. Just don’t try to PR at both!

    Great job with the new PDR!

  8. Way to go on the new distance record! Wahoo Sammi! 🙂

Leave a Reply

