Speedwork – Not a fan

After running 0.71 miles worth of sprints on my driveway,


I have decided I’m not a fan of sprints.
Looking down at your watch just to find out that your pace keeps getting slower and slower is not an ego booster. It makes sense of course, the longer you keep giving it your full speed, the slower you’re going to be by the end; however, it’s kind of depressing at the same time.  This was really my first time doing any speedwork, so I’ve decided that next time I’ll try to go a little further and not get up to a 4:46 min/mile pace at the beginning (if at all).  I think that’s what killed me today.  I was trying to run as fast as I possibly could which made me burn out as fast as I possibly could.

Total distance: 0.71 mi
Total time: 5 min 16 sec 84 mil sec
Avg pace: 7:27
Best pace: 4:46 (which probably lasted about a millisecond)

Do you like speedwork?
Any advice on how to do it properly without burning out before you even hit a tenth of a mile?

My short legs could use all the advice I can get!


On a happier note: I am officially signed up for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Virginia Beach Half Marathon! September 5th is SOOO long away; however, having a little over 8 months to train isn’t something I can complain about!
I put down 2 hours and 20 minutes as my estimated finishing time but I’m really hoping that I can speed that up!  Honestly, I had no idea what to put down so I basically just made up something!

4 responses to “Speedwork – Not a fan

  1. Congrats on signing up for your first half!! That is great! The only reason they make you put an expected finish time is so they know what coral to assign you to at the starting line. But you can change your coral when you go pick up your race packet at the expo if you feel like you need to be in a faster group! Very excited for you! And the Rock n Roll Series are fun because they are so entertaining and usually they have decent bands!

  2. I do not do any speedwork right now, but I have read about it, and it takes a lot of planning. You’ll figure it out. Keep at it!

    Congrats on signing up for the half!

  3. Congrats on signing up for the race!! Im not a fan of sprints either but they are great endurance builders, you could try suicides sprinting about 2 yards hitting the ground running back to start sprinting 4 yars ect.
    Good luck!! ❤

  4. Congrats! That is so exciting. I want to meet up so I can go with you on some of your training runs!

Leave a Reply

